FROM THE RANCH | Thank You!

With the launch of the Blog, I wanted to take the chance to thank everyone who helped make last weekend’s public launch of the Huntington Ranch such a great two days. This includes all of our speakers, participants, caterers, and staff at the Huntington. Check back here as well as in the calendar for future workshops, tour information, and more ways to be involved with the Ranch. Listed below are some links to our presenters from Friday and Saturday:

 

Friday:

Gary Nabhan: http://www.garynabhan.com/
Mark Vallianatos: http://departments.oxy.edu/uepi/cfj/
Garn Wallace: http://www.bettersoils.com/default.cfm
Rose Hayden Smith: http://ucanr.org/seek/personinfonew.cfm?index=958
Susan Mulley: http://www.csupomona.edu/~la/faculty.html

Saturday:

Backwards Beekeepers: http://beehuman.blogspot.com/
Christine Moore: http://www.littleflowercandyco.com/
Claremont Food Not Lawns: http://www.claremontfoodnotlawns.com/
Darren Butler: http://www.ecoworkshops.com/
David Kahn: http://www.sustainablehabitats.org/
Fallen Fruit: http://www.fallenfruit.org/
Homegrown Evolution: http://www.homegrownevolution.com/
LA Master Gardeners: http://celosangeles.ucdavis.edu/Common_Ground_Garden_Program/
Lora Hall: http://www.full-circlegardening.com/
Metabolic Studio: http://metabolicstudio.org/
Rosalind Creasy: http://www.rosalindcreasy.com/
Silverlake Farms: http://www.silverlakefarms.com/

Captions: Scott Kleinrock discussing the ideas behind the newly planted edible landscape; speakers (from left) Gary Nabhan, Erik Knutzen, Kelly Coyne, Rosalind Creasy, and Scott Kleinrock in the back; Intern Davey Monzon talking to participants about the container garden.

Scott Kleinrock is the Ranch project coordinator at The Huntington.

2 thoughts on “FROM THE RANCH | Thank You!

  1. Dear Mr. Kleinrock; I love what you are doing with the Back to the Ranch Project and its representation in the future of “urban” agriculture. This seed sown to the ground at The Huntington, and progress by Cal Poly, and U.C. Riverside represent the future of produce and animal husbandry, the agricultural saving grace in Southern Californian’s culture.

    I am in conversation with a few folks owning 100+ contiguous Ag-acres on the western edge of the Inland Empire 3 miles from Orange, Riverside, and Los Angles County in the county of San Bernardino to form a highly diverse CSA. The ultimate goal of the CSA will be to plant and harvest enough food from this land to feed 250 kids and the staff caring for them.

    In short Mr. Kleinrock, we are trying to create a fully operational “Teaching Farm” with a large barn, pins, coops and corrals to house animals for the production of beef, eggs, poultry, pork, a few goats, sheep, a diverse regeneration of plants, animals, possibly fish, devise a maintain balance and crop rotation for a daily harvest.

    I believe all these and many more unmentioned here are possible with two of California’s if not America’s finest agricultural and animal husbandry universities churning-out farm and garden advisers such as yourself making this vision a reality.

    I look forward to reading more about your success at The Huntington Ranch. Please feel free to contact me directly if you wish to understand more about our vision planting teaching farms supplying information and technologies to the public and entrepreneur-ships for Community Ag. & Animal Services.

    Steve J. Davey
    (909) 614-1414

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *